Mastermason.com Forums Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Public Masonic Discussions > Masonic Discussion Board
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

masonary

Post Reply Post Reply
Author

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote bro fisher Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: masonary
    Posted: August/08/2013 at 9:47pm
I'm new to masonryand it's a lot I have to learn what is a international free mason what's the difference from us PHA and. those four letters
NobleShabba View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote NobleShabba Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: August/09/2013 at 8:34am

The difference between the collection of USA based Masons known as "Prince Hall" and those known among Prince Hall masons as "four letter"* are historical. 

Not ritualistic, not procedural, not lineage, but historical.

*On this forum we tend to refer to the larger group as "MS" or "Mainstream", but in normal discussions among Prince Hall Masons, we tend to refer to the Brothers in that collection of Masons as 'Four Letter', referring to the AF&AM lettering that typically accompany most of those Jurisdictions.  When in conversation that refers to both bodies, it is common to hear the difference referred to as 'Three Letter' (meaning Prince Hall A&FM) and 'Four Letter' (meaning AF&AM).  IMO, this neutral language is the best discriptor to use in conversation, since there are now people of color in the MS, and numerous Caucasians in PHA.
Please do not attempt to read any more into this lettering difference than what is mentioned here.

As far as the 'Internationals' - based on their own account, the group below was self-chartered in 1950, which makes them clandestine.

Source: http://ncifamm.tripod.com/
History of Internation F&AM Masons & OES