Mastermason.com Forums Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Ladies Organizations & Youth Organizations > Order of DeMolay
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Technical Masonic Questions - Event Date: October/15/2014

Post Reply Post Reply
Author

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Learning Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Calendar Event: Technical Masonic Questions
    Posted: October/15/2014 at 8:31pm
Hello,

I have some questions regarding demitting of masons, Northern and Southern jurisdiction in different states, recognized lodges through issuance of charters, as well as several symbolic questions.  First a little bit about me: I am a California resident who lives in New York and recently expressed my desire to become a Freemason to a Master Mason of the grand lodge of New York.  As a result, I was invited to tour the lodge with him, however, upon discovering the fact that I am under 21 we reached an impasse; New York is under the current jurisdiction requiring that the minimum age of a Mason must be 21.  At the time I did not know this because of my residence in California where the minimum age is 18.  

In an attempt to circumvent this I asked him if one was able to join in my home state or another state under different jurisdiction while visiting.  Upon joining in a separate state with a lodge reputable enough for the Grand Lodge of New York to recognize ie. (a lodge with charter) I would return to New York and continue my masonic education.  Although this sounds as if it would work to a person uneducated in the judicial aspects of separate masonic lodges there are two things that come to mind; one, it is possible that demitting from one lodge after spending a brief period with your brothers may be disrespectful and two, the fact that the Grand Lodge of New York may choose not to recognize your dues card.